Invocation (2021)
for Soprano und String quartet
Comissioned by: Concerto Ispirato Ensemble
Instrumentation: female voice, 2 violins, viola, violoncello
Premiere: June 2021, “encounters with Bach” Neustädter Hof- und Stadtkirche, Hannover, Germany by Concerto Ispirato
Other performances: June 2021, HELL:WACH Festival, Marktkirche, Hannover, Germany
June 2022, Kammermusikfestival HMTMH, Hannover, Germany
Duration: 5’ 30”

The piece is inspired by the first movement of Bach's cantata "O heilges Geist und Wasserbad". Bach’s material is very present in the piece, but it's hidden and distorted in different ways. For example there are parts where the main melody of Bach is stretched and split between the instruments, so that they all add up to a texture together, they melt and make a meta-instrument that is always moveable. At some points, as in the beginning, we can say that Bach is hidden in the sounds, rhythm and gestures of the material, as if filtered, and some parts of the melodies and counterpoints appear, but only as shadows.

Your content goes here. Edit or remove this text inline or in the module Content settings. You can also style every aspect of this content in the module Design settings and even apply custom CSS to this text in the module Advanced settings.

WordPress Cookie Notice by Real Cookie Banner